Meet the 2023 Nobel Prize Winners

Let's discover the nobel prize winners this years

Who is Alfred Nobel? In light of all the chaos in the world today, why should we care about Nobel Prizes? Who are the Nobel Prize Winners? Let’s learn everything about Nobel. 

Nobel Prizes have long been celebrated as the pinnacle of recognition for outstanding contributions to humanity. Yet, to grasp its importance truly, we need to know who started it and why?

Alfred Nobel: The visionary behind the prizes

Alfred Bernarhd Nobel, a Swedish engineer, chemist, and industrialist, is the mastermind behind the Nobel Prizes.

Born in 1833, Nobel held over 350 patents in his lifetime, with inventions ranging from dynamite to a more stable and safer explosive. On 27 November 1895, he used his wealth to establish the Nobel Prizes, ensuring his legacy would endure beyond his inventions.

In which categories are Nobel Prizes awarded?

The Nobel Prizes are not just one award; Six Nobel Prizes are awarded annually to recognize outstanding contributions in different categories. Let’s check them out:

  • Nobel Prize in Physics: This award recognizes exceptional achievements in the realm of physics. This one is for the clever people who help us understand how the universe works, like discovering new particles and making cool inventions.

  • Nobel Prize in Chemistry: This prize goes to folks who make discoveries in chemistry that make our lives better, from inventing new vaccines to safer materials for our gadgets.

  • Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine: This Nobel is for those who solve medical problems and make life-saving discoveries, like doctors and scientists making new treatments.

  • Nobel Prize in Literature: This is for talented writers who tell great stories and make us think about important stuff.

  • Nobel Peace Prize: This prize goes to people who work hard to make peace in the world and fight for everyone’s rights. Previous Nobel Peace Prize recipients include Malala Yousafzai (2014), Nelson Mandela and F.W de Klerk  (1993) and Barack Obama (2009)
  • Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences: Introduced later in 1968, this prize recognizes outstanding work in economics. This prize honors the smart people who study money and make our economies stronger.

Who are the 2023 Nobel Prize Winners?

Now, let’s meet the super-smart people and groups who won Nobel Prizes in 2023:

 1. Nobel Prize in Physics:  Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier

Three scientists are this year’s recipients for their work on electrons.

The laureate’s work, which helps explore the behavior of electrons at the timescale of attoseconds, has enabled the investigation of processes at this timescale, which are so rapid that they were previously impossible to follow.

 2. Nobel Prize in Chemistry: Moungi G. Bawendi, Louis E. Brus and Alexei I. Ekimov

The scientists were awarded for the discovery and development of quantum dots; nano particles so small that their size determines their properties.

These tiny particles add color to TV screens and help to guide surgeons during medical procedures.

 3. Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine: Kaitalin Kariko & Drew Weissman 

The Nobel Committee credits these scientists’ work with saving millions of life.

Kariko, a molecular biologist, and Weissman, an immunologist, combined their work in the 1990s to explore how messenger RNA might produce effective drugs or vaccines.

Later, as drugmakers raced to develop vaccines against Covid-19, mRNA technology powered the widely used shots. This year, the duo are awarded for their discoveries that led to the development of effective vaccines against Covid-19.

Let’s work together to keep our planet clean and healthy. Learn more in — Green Jobs & the Future of Work: Preparing Students for Careers in the Green Economy   

 4. Nobel Prize in Literature: Jon Fosse 

Jon Fosse is a Nowegian author, awarded “for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable”. Basically, his words are like magic on paper.

 5. Nobel Peace Prize:  Narges Mohammadi

Mohammadi is a jailed Iranian activist, recognized “for her fight against the oppression of women in Iran.” For decades, Mohammadi has been a powerful voice for human rights and freedom. She is currently imprisoned in Iran’s Evin Prison for alleged propaganda activities, serving multiple sentences totaling over 10 years.

The award is a show of support for the women’s rights movement.

 6. Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences: Claudia Goldin 

This Harvard professor is the third woman to win the Nobel Prize in economics. Golden was awarded for her research that explains why women earn less than men and are less likely to work.

What do the laureates receive?

Nobel Prize laureates will receive a Nobel Prize diploma, a Nobel Prize medal and a document detailing the Nobel Prize amount, which this year is 11 million Swedish kronor, or about $989,000 in current exchange rates.

A well-deserved prize as not only have the laureates left an indelible mark on their respective fields, but they have also enriched humanity.

The legacy of Alfred Nobel lives on, as these Nobel laureates continue to inspire the next generation of brilliant minds to make their mark on history. And that’s what the Nobel Prizes are all about!

The 2023 Nobel Prize Winners are a big inspiration to everyone here at EDU Passport. We love to share great ideas to inspire you to do great things and help others in your own way. Create a free account now and sign up for the full EDU Passport experience.

Follow us

Top Articles

Share this article

The world is waiting to hear your voice!

EDU Blog is the perfect place to share your insights and experiences with the world. Apply to become a guest author today!

Related Articles